“Getting” the 4-1-1


My mentor has poured into me more often then I can count. It has been a long lasting relationship that has guided the direction of my life as I know it today. That’s a lot of weight to put on one person but it’s really just part of the bigger picture. Those of you have have a mentor in your life will understand that statement and those of you that don’t are missing out on a life altering resource.

The advice that I have applied to my life was not very clear to me until I started mentoring on my own. I think all of us have the ability to speak on our own experiences and guide others with our advice. You cannot really appreciate all the things you know until you use those experiences to help someone. No matter what your profession or background we are all mentoring someone in our lives, maybe without even knowing it.

I was pleased to find out what two local creatives were doing to help pair people up with a mentor. It’s easy having a mentor, but “getting” a mentor is a different challenge. Four11 Mentors is an new organization that will focus on pairing creatives in Northwest Indiana. Their mission is…

Connecting individuals in the design industry, both personally and professionally, through a mentor experience that shares honest, real-world experience.

Founders Teresa Zorzi and Ryan Wake said they, “see this as a way to give back to the community, help others, while bettering our industry.” The program is in its beginning stages and I can’t wait to see how this makes our community stronger. Each session will run on a semester timeline but that time the mentors and mentees are encouraged to keep communicating on their own. At least two face-to-face meetings are involved in each session and frequent contact, the goal is to build a relationship with each other so that may look different for each pairing. I think our area is long over due for a formal organization like this.

Like with everything in our area, it is only as good as we make it. I can’t stress enough how often I’ve had questions or heard comments about the things we need in this area and then turn around to see little or no support. My challenge would be for all of us in NWI to support this program and know that it’s for the great good and bigger then those that are involved. I can’t wait to get started as a mentor and I look forward to the great things that this program will bring to the region.

For more information about becoming a mentor or to be put on the mentee waiting list, contact Teresa or Ryan at teresa@four11mentors.com or ryan@four11mentors.com. Their website is still in the process of being completed but you can bookmark it now at http://www.four11mentors.com and follow them on twitter @four11mentors.

One thought on ““Getting” the 4-1-1

  1. I am currently mentoring two young designers and it is truly an amazing experience to watch young creatives grow with in this industry. I was fortunate to have a huge helping hand when I was coming up. It gave me the drive and tools I needed to succeed. This is a very cool idea and I am excited to be a part of it. Well done Ryan and Teresa! Can’t wait to get started.

Leave a Reply

