5 Questions with Nichole Baiel


I first became a fan of Nichole’s work after a late night of googling “Northwest Indiana Web Design” and after viewing a bunch of horrible shops I was delighted to come across some talent in the form of illvision a.k.a. Nichole Baiel. It wasn’t until long, I started to follow her on twitter and keep up with her adventures on her blog. Nichole’s quest of employment continues and I happy to be featuring her in this weeks 5 questions. Enjoy.

I’m Nichole. I’m a writer, web designer, and front-end developer, not necessarily in that order.

I wish I had a 9 to 5 job right now! I’m actually in pursuit of one somewhere in the Chicagoland area. For the last year I’ve been freelancing as a web designer and front-end developer, while writing fiction on the side. Working solo was too unpredictable for me, so I’ve recently decided to seek regular W2 employment once again. I miss working in an office alongside other creatives.

As for other current projects, I have quite a few personal websites I frequently work on: a blog, a fiction writing site, and a portfolio site. I collaborate a lot with friends on various web projects too. There is a Northwest Indiana fine dining website that is in the works with my friend Rahsaan. Outside of the web, I have various fiction projects I’m working on as well. I’m also an active member of the zine community.

The most obvious being I’m a woman in a male-dominated field, especially when it comes to front-end development. I get excited when I find other women developers in the area. Don’t get me wrong, I love working alongside men, but there is always this lovely sense of camaraderie I feel when meeting another woman who loves to code.

I’m also a writer, which often proves helpful when working on design and development projects. Copy is often overlooked and dismissed as something secondary to a website’s design. It’s just as important, if not more-so. You can have a great-looking website, but if the message is presented poorly, you’re probably better off without a site in the first place.

You had better plan on learning about the industry for the rest of your life. No one is ever done learning. Design and markup changes all the time, and to be successful you have to keep up. Read blogs, read magazines, find artistic communities to play a part in. Soak up the world around you and apply it to your art.

I have about 1500 video game tracks in my iTunes. Original soundtracks, chiptunes, OC Remixes, arranged albums, and all the miscellaneous stuff in between. I’m actually listening to the Persona 3 soundtrack as I’m writing this. Good stuff. Anyone who loves video games should listen to the tracks while working. Battle music definitely increases my productivity when deadlines are looming!

Nichole’s Portfolio | Social | Blog | Twitter


One thought on “5 Questions with Nichole Baiel

Leave a Reply

